Vermont Marijuana Dispensaries, Delivery, and Doctors
Popular Cities in Vermont
- Burlington, VT 3 Businesses
- Montpelier, VT 1 Businesses
- Bennington, VT 1 Businesses
- Brandon, VT 1 Businesses
- Winooski, VT 1 Businesses
- Brattleboro, VT 1 Businesses
- Connect with Facebook!
- Download the App!
Is Weed Legal in Vermont?
Yes! Both medical and recreational marijuana are legal in the state of Vermont. Vermont first legalized medical marijuana back in 2004 with the passing of Senate Bill 76. In 2018, Vermont Governor Phil Scott signed Bill House Bill 511, officially legalizing the recreational use of cannabis. With the bill’s signing, Vermont became the 9th state in the US to allow recreational use and the first state to legalize via legislation rather than via popular vote.
While recreational cannabis use is legalized, the law does not allow medical marijuana dispensaries to sell recreational cannabis, so consumers are still unable to purchase at a dispensary. However, the Vermont House of Representatives recently gave initial approval to legislation which would help set up recreational sales in the state. That being said, there are still several steps to be made before the governor can sign anything into law. For now, recreational consumers will have to wait to legally purchase cannabis at a dispensary.
Buying Marijuana in Vermont
Even though both recreational and medicinal marijuana are legalized in Vermont, only medical patients can purchase cannabis at one of five dispensaries in the state. Although the Marijuana Advisory Commission in the state has made recommendations for recreational dispensaries and the House of Representatives has given initial approval of a new bill, nothing has been put into legislation as of now.
Buying Marijuana at a Retail Location
Medical marijuana patients and caregivers are able to purchase cannabis from 1 of 5 dispensaries that have been approved by the Vermont Marijuana Registry (VMR). Patients must have a valid MMJ card from the VMR, and can only purchase from their designated dispensary. Furthermore, patients can only change their dispensary designation every 30 days.
Using a Marijuana Delivery Service
Vermont’s medicinal marijuana dispensaries are able to provide patients with delivery service, as long as they are delivering only to their designated patients. There are strict guidelines and rules that delivery drivers and dispensaries must adhere to, with all deliveries being well documented. It is unclear whether delivery will be a part of any future plans for recreational use.
While there are no restricted hours for dispensaries to be open, most are open from 9-10 AM and close between 4-5 PM. Note that patients are required to schedule an appointment in advance, with most dispensaries having availability within 24-48 hours. Be sure to check wheresweed.com for hours and dispensary listings.
Medicinal patients with a valid MMJ card are able to purchase up to a total of 2 ounces of usable marijuana at a time, and cannot purchase more within 30 days. This includes edible products and concentrates as well.
As stated previously, there has not been legislation put in place in regards to purchasing marijuana for recreational consumption.
With no restrictions on products offered in medicinal dispensaries, patients have access to the full spectrum of cannabis products. Whether you’re looking for quality bud, great concentrates, or some homemade edibles, the medicinal dispensaries will have it all.
Taxes on Marijuana in Vermont
Taxes on Recreational Marijuana in Vermont
While recreational marijuana has been legalized, as of yet there is no legislation allowing sales in Vermont. This might change, however, with a new amendment from the House of Representatives which passed initial approval. The amendment proposes a 14% excise tax on retail sales and a 6% sales tax, for a combined 20%.
Taxes on Medical Marijuana in Vermont
Luckily for patients, there are currently no state sales taxes on marijuana in Vermont. This helps make cannabis accessible to all those in need of this medicine.
Medicinal marijuana patients in Vermont are able to possess up to 2 ounces of combined bud, concentrates, and edibles at once. Furthermore, patients may cultivate up to 9 plants at one time, with no more than 2 allowed to be mature. If a patient chooses to purchase bud from a dispensary, they are not able to cultivate as well.
While recreational sales have not been approved, possession of marijuana for recreational purposes is legal. Adults over 21 without an MMJ card may have up to one ounce of marijuana or 5 grams of hashish. Recreational users may also have up to 2 mature plants or 4 immature plants for cultivation.
Using Marijuana in Vermont
In Vermont, consuming marijuana is prohibited in many places. The law states that marijuana use can only be done in individual dwellings. A general rule is if you cannot smoke cigarettes, you cannot smoke marijuana. Below are the specific rules of where you can and cannot smoke.
Areas in Vermont that DO NOT allow the use of marijuana:
- Public places (streets, sidewalks, parks)
- Hotel rooms
- Federal lands
Areas in Vermont that DO allow the use of marijuana:
- Homes owned by users or given permission by landlords
- Airbnb’s with the consent of the host
Smoking on Federal Lands
Considering marijuana is still illegal on a federal level in the United States, it is illegal to possess or consume marijuana on federal lands. It should also be noted that it is illegal to consume marijuana in any public space in Vermont, so it’s best to keep it at home.
Medical Marijuana in Vermont
As of now, those with medical marijuana cards are the only people in the state of Vermont capable of purchasing marijuana in a dispensary. Patients must have a valid MMJ card to purchase and must choose a designated dispensary. Once approved, medical marijuana patients may buy up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana product every 30 days. Patients are also able to change their designated dispensary every 30 days.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Vermont
Applying for a medical marijuana card in Vermont is not too difficult. Potential patients must simply go throw the below steps to be approved for a card:
- Patients with qualifying conditions and doctor recommendations must fill out a registration form, attach a photo, and pay $50 to the Vermont Marijuana Registry.
- A patient must have their physician fill out a form to be sent to the VMR as well. The doctor and patient must have a bona fide relationship, which means the patient must have been seeing the doctor for over 3 months.
- Those applying due to PTSD must also send in a Mental Health Care Provider Form.
- The Vermont Marijuana Registry is required to approve or reject applications within 30 days. If approved, the VMR will send a medical marijuana card to the patient’s home address.
- Cards must be renewed annually, with a $50 fee each year along with updated paperwork.
Out of State Medical Cards Vermont
At the moment, Vermont does not offer reciprocity with any other state for medical marijuana purchases.
How to Transport Marijuana in Vermont
Transporting Marijuana in Vermont
Consumers carrying marijuana in their car should keep it in the trunk or in a locked glove box. If there is no trunk in the vehicle, behind the back seat is acceptable, as long as it is not within reach of the driver. It is advised to keep marijuana in a sealed container while driving as well.
Driving While Under the Influence of Marijuana
In Vermont, it is highly illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana. Drivers found to be high by a Drug Recognition Evaluator (often a police officer) can face a criminal penalty of up to $750 and two years in prison for the first offense. It should be noted that passengers may not light up in a car, considering the driver could inhale secondhand smoke.
Driving Across State Lines with Marijuana
While marijuana is illegal on a federal level, driving across state lines is illegal. If you’re planning on crossing the border to Canada, be sure to leave your cannabis at home – crossing the border with marijuana is also a federal crime.
Growing Marijuana in Vermont
Growing marijuana in Vermont is perfectly legal. Medical marijuana patients are able to grow up to 9 plants at one time. There are restrictions on the maturity of the plants, however, with only two allowed to be mature at one time. Furthermore, medical marijuana patients choosing to purchase cannabis from a dispensary are not able to grow their own.
Although there has been no system in place for adult-use consumers to purchase seeds, recreational users may also have up to 2 mature plants or 4 immature plants for cultivation.
Find Vermont marijuana dispensaries, deliveries, seed banks and doctors in popular places like Burlington, Montpelier, and Bennington
LEARN | LAWS & REGULATIONS
Is weed legal in Vermont?
Yes, both adult-use and medical marijuana are legal in Vermont, though recreational sales are not yet operational.
Vermont legalized marijuana for medicinal use in 2004 when the state legislature passed S 76, An Act Relating to the Medical Use of Marijuana . The governor didn’t sign it, but the bill passed anyway, removing legal possession and cultivation penalties for patients and setting up the Vermont Marijuana Registry. In the intervening years, additional bills have expanded the list of qualifying conditions and the types of healthcare professionals allowed to recommend marijuana for their patients.
In January 2018, Gov. Phil Scott signed H. 511 , eliminating penalties for possessing small amounts of marijuana for adults 21 years of age and older. The law, which became Act 86, legalized up to 1 ounce (28 grams), two mature plants, and four immature plants for each adult.
In 2020, the state legalized recreational sales when Gov. Phil Scott allowed Vermont S. 54 , which was introduced in 2019, to pass without his signature. The law stipulated that all localities must opt-in to having adult-use retail establishments, special consideration be given to small-scale cultivators and businesses owned by people of color and women, and a Cannabis Control Board (CCB) and advisory board be set up.
The Department of Public Safety’s Vermont Marijuana Registry (VMR) is responsible for issuing medical cannabis cards to Vermont patients with qualifying conditions and making sure registered dispensaries are compliant with state laws. S. 54 required that control move to the CCB on March 1, 2022.
Once recreational cannabis retail outlets open (it’s planned for 2022) adults over 21 will be able to purchase cannabis in Vermont. They will be limited to flower that doesn’t have more than 30% THC and concentrates with no more than 60% THC. Edibles can have up to 50 milligrams of THC with servings of no more than 5 milligrams of THC each. Unflavored vape pen cartridges are the only oil allowed.
Registered patients and caregivers with medical marijuana cards can buy cannabis from one of the dispensaries sanctioned by the VMR . Medical sales are tax-exempt. THC limits imposed on recreational cannabis do not apply to medical marijuana.
Patients can only buy from their designated dispensary. They are limited to one chosen dispensary at a time and can only change the designation once every 30 days for a $25 fee.
A patient can assign a caregiver to buy and deliver medical cannabis if the patient is unable to obtain marijuana on his or her own. Delivery services are also available.
Finding licensed dispensaries in Vermont
Medical marijuana card holders can find licensed dispensaries in Vermont and search by cities including Burlington, Montpelier, and Plattsburgh. Many dispensaries in Vermont offer delivery and curbside pickup services in addition to storefront sales.
Cannabis cannot be consumed outside of a private space or within public view. The governor’s Marijuana Advisory Commission is recommending that Vermont’s smoke-free laws extend to cannabis. Consumption in a public place can result in a $100 fine for the first offense.
Driving under the influence of marijuana carries severe penalties. First-time offenders could face up to two years in prison and a $750 fine. Those with more than four convictions could face a decade in prison and $5,000 in fines. Consuming cannabis while driving, which extends to second-hand smoke if anyone in the car is smoking, can result in a $500 fine, even for registered patients. An open container of marijuana in a car can result in a $200 fine.
Adults 21 and older who are not patients can possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of hashish, and grow a maximum of two mature marijuana plants or four immature marijuana plants. Marijuana harvested from home cultivation does not count towards the 1 ounce total.
A registered medical marijuana patient and caregiver can collectively possess up to 2 ounces (57 grams) of marijuana, two mature marijuana plants, and seven immature cannabis plants. Marijuana harvested from home cultivation does not count towards the 1 ounce total. Patients may only transport cannabis if the product is in a locked container out of public view.
View the cannabis laws & regulations for Vermont.