LEARN | LAWS & REGULATIONS
Is weed legal in New Hampshire?
Medical marijuana is legal in the Granite State for patients with qualifying conditions.
New Hampshire decriminalized marijuana in 2017. Possession of 21 grams of cannabis or cannabis-infused products with no more than 300 milligrams of THC, or up to 5 grams of hash can be punished with a fine up to $100 for a first and second offense. A third offense within three years could bring a $300 fine.
New Hampshire became the 19th state in the nation and the last in New England to allow medical marijuana in 2013 when it passed House Bill 573. The law established a list of qualifying conditions, albeit restrictive. Under the law, not only did a patient need a diagnosis of a qualifying condition, but they also had to exhibit severe symptoms of the debilitating condition.
HB 573 required dispensaries to be nonprofit and set requirements for medical marijuana cards and purchase and possession limits. The original law also did not allow for home growing.
In 2014, the New Hampshire House of Representatives approved a marijuana legalization bill, but it later died in the Senate.
New Hampshire decriminalized marijuana in 2017. Possession of cannabis of 0.75 ounce or less became a civil offense punishable with a $100 fine for a first or second offense and $300 for a third offense.
New legalization attempts may face an uphill battle after the November 2020 election since Gov. Chris Sununu, an opponent, was re-elected and few supporters remained in the legislature.
Where is it safe to purchase?
Medical cannabis is overseen and regulated by the Therapeutic Cannabis Program of the Department of Health and Human Services. Registered patients can purchase medical marijuana at one of the state’s dispensaries, called Alternative Treatment Centers (ATCs). Patients can only shop at the ATC they chose during registration. Delivery is not available.
Patients can purchase no more than 2 ounces of marijuana or marijuana products within a 10-day period and may not possess more than that amount. Patients and caregivers between them can’t possess more than 2 ounces at a time.
Find licensed dispensaries in New Hampshire
Medical marijuana cardholders can find licensed dispensaries in New Hampshire and search by major metro areas. Many dispensaries in New Hampshire offer curbside pickup services in addition to storefront sales.
Where is it safe to consume?
In New Hampshire, marijuana cannot be consumed in public. In addition, it is illegal to possess medical marijuana in school buildings or on school grounds, at public recreation and youth centers, or at a place of employment without the employer’s written permission.
Medical marijuana program
New Hampshire’s Department of Health and Human Services oversees the Therapeutic Cannabis Program (TCP). New Hampshire residents 18 years or older can complete an application once they’ve received a Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis from a qualified medical professional. The patient and provider must have an ongoing relationship of at least three months (though there are some exceptions). Parents or guardians can apply for minor patients.
New Hampshire recognizes the following conditions:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease
- Chronic pancreatitis
- Crohn’s disease
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Hepatitis C
- Multiple sclerosis
- Muscular dystrophy
- Parkinson’s disease
- Spinal cord injury or disease
- Traumatic brain injury
- Ulcerative colitis
Additionally, the condition must be severely debilitating or terminal, or its treatment has produced at least one of the following symptoms:
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
- Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
- Constant or severe nausea
- Elevated intraocular pressure, or glaucoma
- Moderate to severe vomiting
- Severe, persistent muscle spasms
- Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures, or for which other treatment options produce serious side effects
Patients must visit a doctor, doctor’s assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) licensed in New Hampshire or a doctor or APRN licensed in Maine, Massachusetts, or Vermont to be diagnosed with a qualifying condition and receive a written certification. Patients can then visit the TCP website to register.
Applications must include:
- Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis from the patient’s physician
- State-issued ID or other proof of New Hampshire residency
- $50 application fee
A patient may designate a caregiver at any time. The designated caregiver must be 21 years or older and never convicted of a felony. They must complete an application and a background check to be approved by the TCP. The caregiver must have a Caregiver Registry ID card before assisting the patient.
While medical marijuana patients from other states are not allowed to purchase from ATCs, they can legally possess cannabis as long as they have a condition on New Hampshire’s list of qualifying conditions.
New Hampshire medical marijuana laws require that each batch of cannabis be tested by a state-licensed lab.
Labs must test for:
- Cannabinoid profile and potency
- Heavy metals
- Residual solvents (for concentrates only)
When will New Hampshire decriminalize weed?
New Hampshire decriminalized weed in 2017. Possession of 21 grams of cannabis or cannabis-infused products with no more than 300 milligrams of THC, or up to 5 grams of hash can be punished with a fine up to $100 for a first and second offense. A third offense within three years could result in a $300 fine. These charges and fines do not result in arrest records.
This page was last updated on November 11, 2020.
View the marijuana laws & regulations for New Hampshire.
Medical marijuana new hampshire
New Patients: Please call our New Patient Referral team at 603.841.2307
Existing Patients: Please call our Clinical Coordinator, Pam at 603.692.3166 Ext. 139
Introduction to the Therapeutic Cannabis Program
This page provides information about qualifying criteria for Medical Marijuana / Therapeutic Cannabis and the certification process.
Who is a Certifying Provider?
Some Granite State Pain Associates providers participate in the certification process with the State of New Hampshire while others do not. Please be advised that you may need to see a different provider than the person you normally see if that provider lacks the proper qualifications or has chosen not to participate in the program.
The State of New Hampshire requires patients to have an established provider/patient relationship of at least three months with a certifying provider prior to initiation of the certification process.
Certification means that a provider verifies for the state that a patient has a qualifying medical condition.
What are the Qualifying Medical Conditions for treatment with Therapeutic Cannabis?
The State of New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services has established a list of Qualifying Medical Conditions. Refer to RSA 126-X:1, IX(a).
“Qualifying medical condition*” means “the presence of:
- (A) Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, Crohn’s disease, multiple sclerosis, chronic pancreatitis, spinal cord injury or disease, traumatic brain injury, epilepsy, lupus, Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, ulcerative colitis, Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, or one or more injuries or conditions that has resulted in one or more qualifying symptoms under subparagraph (B); AND
(B) A severely debilitating or terminal medical condition or its treatment that has produced at least one of the following: elevated intraocular pressure, cachexia, chemotherapy-induced anorexia, wasting syndrome, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects, constant or severe nausea, moderate to severe vomiting, seizures, or severe, persistent muscle spasms;OR
- “Qualifying medical condition” also means:
(A) Moderate to severe chronic pain.
(B) Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects.
(C) Moderate or severe post-traumatic stress disorder.
*as referenced on 09/13/2018
Will my insurance cover Medical Marijuana and the certification process?
Unfortunately, the answer at this time is no. Health insurance companies currently are not participating in the program.
What are the fees for the Certification Process?
The initial consult fee is $150.00. Follow-up visits are expected to occur at approximately 3-6 month intervals at provider discretion and the fee per visit is $75.00. Payment is due upon arrival, and Granite State Pain Associates will accept cash, credit or debit card payment only. Personal checks are not accepted.
There is a $50.00 application fee which is sent by the patient to the State of New Hampshire. This can be a personal check.
How does the certification process work?
The patient must have an established patient/provider relationship for medical care of at least three months. During this time, various therapies may be trialed and opiates reduced or eliminated when indicated.
After that time, if the patient has a “Qualifying Medical Condition”, the provider may complete the ‘Written Certification for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis’. This certification form is then sent by the patient along with their application to the State of New Hampshire. The state will then review the application and certification and will notify the patient of approval or denial within 20 days of receiving the application. It may take longer to receive the Registry Identification Card, however.
How do I get a prescription for Medical Marijuana?
Medical Marijuana is only prescribed by providers at one of the state dispensaries. (It is important to understand that our providers cannot ‘prescribe’ medical marijuana; they can only ‘certify your condition’.)
After certification and approval, patients will choose one of the four dispensaries in the state, with locations in Dover, Merrimack, Plymouth and Lebanon. The dispensaries are staffed by medical professionals who will consult with patients and prescribe the medications based on medical condition.
The medications come in several formulations including: Capsules, tinctures, topical lotions and balms, lozenges, chewable, sub-lingual tablets, trans-dermal patches, edible baked goods and infused beverages as well as vapor pens. Smoking the medication is never advised.
What are cannabinoids, and what can they do for me?
Cannabinoids are chemical compounds that provide the therapeutic benefits of the cannabis plant. Each compound is associated with a different property that can be utilized for a different therapeutic benefit. Research has identified approximately 85 different cannabinoids in the cannabis plant itself. As research progresses, we learn more about the potential beneficial properties associated with each of these chemicals.
When cannabis is consumed, these chemicals bind to receptors in the brain producing different effects.
Below are just some of the cannabinoids that have been identified and the potential benefits that have been associated with them:
- CBD, CBG, CBC, CBGA, CBCA, TCHA – Anti-Inflammatory (reduces inflammation)
- THC, CBD, CBN, CBC, CBGA – Analgesic (relieves pain)
- CBD, CBG, CBC, THCA, CBDA – Anti-Proliferative (inhibits tumor cell growth)
- THC, CBD, CBN, THCA – Anti-Spasmodic (relieves muscle spasms )
- CBD,CBG,CBC,THCV – Bone Stimulant (promotes bone growth)
- CBD, CBG, CBGA – Antibacterial (kills or slows bacterial growth )
- THC, CBD – Anti-Enemic (reduces nausea and vomiting)
- CBD, THCV – Anti-Epileptic (reduces seizures)
- THC – Appetite Stimulant
- CBD – Neuroprotective (protects the nervous system)
As research progresses, and therapeutic use of cannabis promotes more opportunity for study, we will continue to learn more and more about this fascinating plant.
How will the medication affect me?
Many patients ask, “Will this make me feel high or not in control?” Providers at the dispensaries will help you to find a good comfort level. Marijuana available for medical use also is available in a wide variety of strains, some of which are “bred” to have lower concentrations of THC (the chemical that causes the psychoactive affect) and higher concentrations of other chemicals which are reported to help in certain conditions, such as: CBD which helps with muscle spasms and Alzheimer’s disease, CBC which helps relieve pain, and reduce inflammation, THCV which helps with seizures.
Does cannabis help with pain? Studies have shown that patients using medical cannabis have reported pain relief. However, as with all emerging treatments, there is some controversy surrounding these claims. There is currently more research being conducted.
Is it safe to drive while under the influence of Cannabis?
Under RSA 126-X:3, NO person shall be exempt from arrest or prosecution for being under the influence of medical cannabis while operating a motor vehicle, commercial vehicle, boat, vessel, or any other vehicle propelled or drawn by power other than muscular power.
Will I become dependent on Medical Cannabis?
As with all controlled substances, dependence is possible. It is important to take the medication only as prescribed and consult with your provider if you have any questions or concerns arise. Our providers will be seeing you regularly to monitor your response to therapy and to monitor you for any unwanted side effects.
I think I’m ready, what do I do now?
If you are already a patient with Granite State Pain Associates and wish to schedule a consultation to determine your eligibility for this therapy, please contact our Clinical Coordinator, Pam at 603-692-3166, extension 139.
If you are a new patient, please call our New Patient Team at 603-841-2307.
If you qualify, please bring these forms with you to your Therapeutic Cannabis Consultation Appointment:
*Review in detail the “New Hampshire Application for the Therapeutic Use of Cannabis” and the instructions provided therein by the State of New Hampshire.
*Complete the following forms and bring to your appointment the following forms:
Granite State Pain Associates Forms:
State of New Hampshire Forms:
Want to learn more? Check out these additional informational links below.
This page provides information about qualifying criteria for Medical Marijuana / Therapeutic Cannabis and the certification process.