Louisiana begins licensing farmers, CBD firms to build state’s nascent hemp industry
Published February 21, 2020 | By Hemp Industry Daily staff
Agriculture officials in Louisiana have begun issuing the first hemp production and handling licenses to farmers, processors and transporters, while businesses ranging from gas stations to pharmacies have received the go-ahead they need to sell products containing CBD in the state.
As one of the first three states to receive federal approval for its state production plan, Louisiana opened the application process for hemp handlers.
Agriculture officials said Thursday the state has finalized its hemp rules and started issuing licenses for hemp production, processing and transportation of industrial hemp.
Louisiana passed legislation to create the state’s first industrial hemp program in June 2019.
Because the state did not have a pilot research program under the 2014 Farm Bill, it was required to receive approval for its hemp production program from the USDA under the 2018 Farm Bill.
Last fall, Strain predicted that up to 200 farmers would apply for permits to grow hemp in 2020, with up to 80,000 acres of production.
The state’s hemp production law requires:
- Separate licenses for hempseed producers, hemp growers, hemp transporters and hemp processors.
- A 10-year ban restricting felons from participating in the hemp industry.
- Licenses for growers and processors that will be capped at $500 a year.
- THC testing fees that are capped at $250 a year.
Unlike commercial farmers, the state’s two agricultural research institutions – Louisiana State University and Southern University – will not be required to destroy hemp crops with THC content above 0.3% THC.
The Louisiana Alcohol and Tobacco Control board has so far issued licenses to nearly 1,500 businesses that applied to sell CBD products, according to The (Baton Rouge) Advocate.
Louisiana retailers had to wait until June 17 to apply for permits to sell CBD products.
But, by September, authorities had awarded 775 temporary permits to liquor stores, gas stations and CBD-specific shops that want to sell CBD.
The state’s Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control received more than 1,000 permit applications after passage of a law outlining how retailers can sell products containing CBD. The agency started the process in June.
Temporary CBD sales licenses will expire this month, when permanent rules go into effect. Retail permits were to be capped at $175 a year.
Under the Louisiana law, hemp-derived CBD products can be sold if they have no more than 0.3% THC.
However, the state bans smokable hemp products and CBD in alcoholic beverages and foods, saying those won’t be allowed until federal authorities approve CBD as a food additive.
For in-state sales, CBD products must:
- Carry scannable bar codes, QR codes or other information to verify the product’s certificate of analysis.
- Carry the warning, “This product has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and is not intended to diagnose, treat cure or prevent any disease.”
The Louisiana hemp program has finalized its rules and started issuing licenses for hemp production, processing and transportation within the state.
Farmers to begin growing hemp in La. in spring, but must jump through some hoops first
BATON ROUGE, La. (WAFB) – We’re just a couple of months away from the first round of hemp being planted in Louisiana in several decades.
In spring of 2020, farmers will finally be able to grow hemp, the cousin to marijuana. Its growth was made legal federally after Congress approved the 2018 Farm Bill, but remained illegal to grow in Louisiana. In 2019, that changed when the state legislature passed a bill legalizing the plant.
This spring is the first year the crop can be grown in Louisiana , but before farmers can put the seed in the ground though, there are a lot of hoops must jump through.
“Before we start issuing license, we wanted to make sure all the potential participants were aware of the process and how to comply with the regulations and such,” said Lester Cannon, director of seed for the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF).
Hemp, unlike just about any other crop, has a litany of regulations surrounding it. Farmers must pass a federal background check and submit to random testing of their crop to ensure the THC levels do not exceed 0.3%. Any levels above that is considered marijuana by the federal government.
If the hemp tests over the set limits, the entire crop must be destroyed. Farmers can have their plants retested once after a failed sample, but if it fails again, the farmer must destroy the crop.
“The material we’re going to be regulating and dealing with is actually going to be industrial hemp,” Cannon said. “That’s the stuff under that 0.3.”
Farmers will have to be licensed before they can start growing. According to LDAF, those licenses will be issued shortly after the USDA releases its final rules for the plant. That’s expected to happen Feb. 20. Lester says once licenses are distributed, he expects seed to be in the ground by late April.
Copyright 2020 WAFB. All rights reserved.
We’re just a couple months away from the first round of a brand new crop being planted in Louisiana in several decades.