New Hampshire Marijuana Laws
Updated September 2019
The state of New Hampshire has taken some steps toward creating reasonable cannabis access policies that its constituents have shown support for, but it still has a ways to go. Learn more about New Hampshire marijuana laws below.
Recreational Marijuana in New Hampshire
Is marijuana legal in New Hampshire? In short, no. However, on July 18, 2017, New Hampshire’s new governor Chris Sununu (R) signed into law House Bill 640, which makes the first and second offense of possession of up to three quarters of an ounce of cannabis or up to five grams of hash a civil offense punishable by a $100 fine, rather than a criminal offense. A fine of up to $300 for any subsequent offense within three years may be applied. A fourth offense within a three-year period may result in a person being charged with a misdemeanor.
Under New Hampshire marijuana laws, police cannot arrest someone for a cannabis violation, and minors caught with possession are subject to a delinquency petition. The money collected from fines will go to a fund dedicated to alcohol and drug abuse prevention and treatment.
With the passing of the most recent law, New Hampshire became the 22nd U.S. state to decriminalize marijuana and the last of the New England states. It went into effect 60 days after signing.
Medical Marijuana in New Hampshire
New Hampshire took a huge step forward by passing a comprehensive medical marijuana law in 2013. Gov. Maggie Hassan signed House Bill 573 to legalize medical marijuana on July 23, 2013, but the rollout was plagued with delays and the first dispensary didn’t open until April 2016. Under the law, registered patients are allowed to possess up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana.
The state currently has four open and operational dispensaries. The law does not allow for qualified patients to cultivate marijuana at home.
In order for patients to be eligible for New Hampshire’s Therapeutic Cannabis Program, a licensed physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or a physician assistant must issue a written certification that certifies that a patient has BOTH a condition listed here AND a symptom listed in the second list:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Chronic Pancreatitis
- Crohn’s Disease
- Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome
- Hepatitis C
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Spinal Cord Injury or Disease
- Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
- Chemotherapy Induced Anorexia
- Elevated Intraocular Pressure
- Moderate to Severe Chronic Pain
- Moderate to Severe Vomiting
- Severe Pain That Has Not Responded to Previously Prescribed Medication
- Persistent Muscle Spasms
- Wasting Syndrome or Cachexia
CBD from Hemp Oil in New Hampshire
Hemp-derived CBD products are legal under Federal Law in the United States; however, individual state laws are dynamic and fluid. Individual states may enact their own laws governing hemp-derived CBD.
Cultivation of Cannabis in New Hampshire
Growing cannabis for medical or personal purposes remains illegal.
Hemp can be cultivated legally by licensed growers. Governor Maggie Hassan House Bill 421 in July 2015, authorizing the University of New Hampshire to grow industrial hemp for research purposes. In July 2019, Gov. Chris Sununu signed House Bill 459 to amend the state’s existing hemp law. The new bill officially legalizes hemp and establishes a committee to study the federal guidelines on growing hemp.
Legal Status of Other U.S. States
Stay up to date on the latest state legislation, referendums, and public opinion polls. Our Marijuana Legalization Map allows you to browse the current status of medical and recreational marijuana laws in other U.S. states and territories.
DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only; it does not constitute legal advice. Although we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Therefore, any reliance you place on such information is strictly at your own risk.With more states legalizing the use of marijuana it can be hard to stay up to date on New Hampshire marijuana laws. Click to learn more about marijuana laws in NH!
CBD in New Hampshire: NH State Laws and Where to Buy Legally
CBD Oil Legality in New Hampshire: Cannabidiol State Law Regulations in NH, USA
The popularity of CBD and hemp-derived products has exploded in the past few years. As the 2018 Farm Bill is poised to completely legalize the industrial hemp industry in all fifty states, many consumers all over the country are becoming more interested in trying CBD for themselves. But public misconceptions and governmental misunderstandings about the substance are still uncertain.
CBD is a derivative of the cannabis or hemp plant. Though many products derived from cannabis have high quantities of THC and produce a “high,” most CBD does not contain anything but a small, trace amount of THC. In addition to not being able to produce an actual “high,” low-THC CBD products are able to avoid being detected on most modern drug tests.
Additionally, CBD has been shown by researchers to potentially help alleviate a variety of conditions. Severe pain from illnesses like cancer and infection can be mitigated by the healing substance, and even mental conditions such as anxiety can be assisted with a healthy dose of CBD, according to select researchers all over the world.
But despite the realities behind the CBD chemical, governments all over the world continue to regulate the substance as if it is just another way for marijuana users to try to get high. In New Hampshire, the approach to the regulation of marijuana and CBD seems to ignore this trend; the country has an industrial hemp pilot program and a medical cannabis infrastructure in-place.
CBD Laws in New Hampshire
CBD laws within New Hampshire fall into just two categories. First, a medical cannabis program was put into place via House Bill 573 back in 2013. This program has faced a few smaller revisions since that time, but has not been repealed and remains in place today in New Hampshire. This medical marijuana program makes it possible for patients with “debilitating conditions” to gain access to medicinal grade marijuana and CBD, so long as they have a medical marijuana card signed by their physician.
Additionally, the state responded to a spike in public interest regarding CBD and hemp-derived products by passing revisions to New Hampshire statutory code sections 433-C:1 to 433-C:3. This revision put into place an industrial hemp pilot program, which made it completely legal for companies to manufacture and distribute hemp-derived products. The only stipulation is that these products can only have a trace amount of THC content by dry weight.
Age Requirements for CBD in New Hampshire
New Hampshire age requirements are relatively straight-forward, but depend primarily on the type of CBD a user is looking to purchase. For CBD with a significant THC content, the only way to obtain it in the state of New Hampshire is to gain access to a medical marijuana card. This card is only available to patients whose doctor or specialist has signed a document stating the necessity of marijuana and CBD to their treatment plan. Though doctors are typically hesitant to recommend marijuana for minors, this is still a possibility as a medical necessity.
But for CBD without this significant THC content, the age requirement is almost invariably eighteen. Occasionally, smoke and head shops within New Hampshire will require that consumers be at least twenty-one before entering the establishment. But for the most part, many CBD products sold in the state are sold to consumers overt he age of eighteen.
Where to Find New Hampshire CBD
New Hampshire CBD can be found in a variety of different shops and stores. Medical marijuana can only be purchased from licensed medical marijuana dispensaries, of which there are many in the state of New Hampshire. These establishments offer some of the most potent and quality CBD that can be found in the state, but they have the strictest requirements for who can purchase their products as well.
Because the state does not have adult-use cannabis yet on the books, the only other legal way to acquire CBD is through the industrial hemp pilot program. This program makes it legal for users to consume and purchase CBD so long as it only has a small amount of THC within its compound. For these laws, consumers can expect to find CBD in gas stations, head and smoke shops, and even in health food shops all over New Hampshire.
Buying CBD Online in New Hampshire
There are currently no laws on the books against obtaining CBD products through the internet in New Hampshire. However, because these purchases will only be legal for consumers under the industrial hemp program, users need to be careful to not purchase CBD products with a THC content higher than the legal limit outlined by New Hampshire law.
Future of CBD in New Hampshire
New Hampshire is already relatively open to CBD products. The next logical step for their government might be to legalize adult-use high-THC CBD products as well.CBD Oil Legality in New Hampshire: Cannabidiol State Law Regulations in NH, USA The popularity… ]]>